Christmas Spirit Reading Challenge: Wrapping it all up with a bow!

7 Jan

christmas spirit reading challenge 2014Christmas season was even more fun and festive this year because of the Christmas Spirit Reading Challenge, hosted by Michelle at her gorgeous blog, The Christmas Spirit, which makes life cheerier year-round, any time we need a little Christmas, as the Jerry Herman song says. I enjoyed her posts and guest posts on the theme of “Sharing the Joy: Christmas Around the World,” including Hungarian and Bohemian (by guest Caddy Rowland) customs of food, celebrating, and decorating.

For my participation in the Challenge, I read four books (and reviewed two):

  1. Jacob T. Marley by R. William Bennett (a well-written twist on A Christmas Carol, recommended to me by Michelle, who also reviewed it here).
  2. Moominland Midwinter, written and illustrated by Tove Jansson (a whimsical wisdom tale for both children and adults, counting towards my Northern Lights Reading Project).
  3. Scandinavian Christmas by Trine Hahnemann (a cookbook, also for Northern Lights).
  4. Shepherds Abiding by Jan Karon (recommended to me by Sharon of Faith Hope and Cherrytea; it’s now my favorite of the Karon books I’ve read).

I didn’t do my usual re-read of Old Christmas, by Washington Irving, but I did pull the book off the shelf and savored once again the illustrations by Randolph Caldecott. I had hoped to finish Lakeshore Christmas by Susan Wiggs, but I’ve only just started it–something for next year’s Challenge!

As part of the Challenge, I watched (or should I say “binge-watched”) Christmas movies served up marathon-style on the Hallmark Channel during the month of December. Here are some of my favorites:

  1. Fallen Angel (2003), starring Gary Sinise and Joely Richardson. Quietly beautiful story of two people who met as children and were destined to find each other again. This one got many viewings at my house.
  2. Christmas Cottage (2008), starring Marcia Gay Harden, Peter O’Toole, and Jared Padalecki. Early life and formative experiences of artist Thomas Kinkade.
  3. Christmas at Cartwright’s (2014), starring Alicia Witt, Gabriel Hogan, and Wallace Shawn. Alicia Witt is charmingly klutzy as a woman who becomes a department store Santa, and stumbles upon true love.
  4. The Christmas Ornament (2013), starring Kellie Martin and Cameron Mathison. Martin is wonderful as a widow who pushes away both Christmas and a new friendship with Mathison because of her loyalty to memory.
  5. The Nine Lives of Christmas (2014), starring Brandon Routh and Stephanie Bennett. Remember Superman Returns from 2006? Its star, Brandon Routh, plays a commitment-shy bachelor, but, hey, he’s on the Hallmark Channel during Christmas, so he’s sure to find lasting love!

As you can see, I had a lot of fun with the “Mistletoe” level of books read and the “Fa La La La La” (!) level of films watched.  I’ll be back for more next year!

2 Responses to “Christmas Spirit Reading Challenge: Wrapping it all up with a bow!”

  1. thetruebookaddict January 7, 2015 at 10:55 am #

    I’m glad you enjoyed the reading challenge and the goings on at the blog. I had planned to do a lot more, but my illness really threw a wrench in the whole business. You read some good ones. Of course, you know I loved Jacob T. Marley. I believe I will find myself reading that one again in the future, as I reread A Christmas Carol periodically.

    I love the Hallmark movies! I pretty much had them on around the clock, even if I wasn’t always paying 100%. They replay them so often…it’s easy to catch them again. I also loved 3, 4, and 5 on your list and 1 and 2 are some old favorites. One of my favorites from the past is The Christmas List with Mimi Rogers which I didn’t see aired this year. I have a lot of the old ones on VHS tapes (I used to tape all the movies every year) so I’ll just have to watch it on Rudolph Day. 😉

    Thanks for joining me for the challenge. I hope you will join me again next year. 🙂

  2. faith hope & cherrytea January 15, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

    Love your ‘binge’ watching 🙂 Feel like I did the same with reading + watching ! but do love the season – and another 2 waiting at the library even yesterday when I stopped in to pick up my reserved holds …
    Glad your email alerted me to it and I’ve had the FuN of participating for the 1st time ❤

    See you at the #WintersRespite

Leave a Reply

Faith Hope & Cherrytea

inspiring and inspiriting ...

Myrtle Skete

Orthodox Gleanings

catholicismpure.wordpress.com/

Catholicism without compromise

Joan's Rome

by EWTN's Rome Bureau Chief Joan Lewis

Burning Hearts

A personal journey into sacred scripture

Living Our Days

Gaining a heart of wisdom

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Third Order Carmelites TOC

Ordo Fratrum Beatissimæ Virginis Mariæ de Monte Carmelo

The Holy Ones

They are happy who live by the law of God.

The Victorian Librarian

This is the life you lead when you can't decide between librarianship and research

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

Dotty Anderson

CHILDREN'S STORIES TO ENTERTAIN AND EDUCATE

Literary ramblings etc

"Book collecting...is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it" (Jeanette Winterson).

Some of my best friends are fictional...

Life in Slow Motion

Where Life, Faith, and Chronic Pain Collide

Shelf Love

live mines and duds: the reading life

The Fictional 100

Some of my best friends are fictional...

The Evolving Critic

Art and Culture

