#TTWIBRAT Mini-Challenge + GIVEAWAY : Favorite Characters in Cover Art

25 Oct
Image courtesy of potowizard at FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

Image courtesy of potowizard at FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

I’m very happy to be hosting a mini-challenge for our Travel the World in Books Readathon. It’s about one of my very favorite things about reading–great characters! When a truly memorable character transports me to a different place and time, it’s even better, and speaks to my own longings to travel around the world and travel in time too.  A beautiful or striking book cover featuring the outstanding character I will meet in the story is sure to draw me in, whether the book is a favorite classic in a new edition or something totally new–a favorite in the making.

I’m sure you’ve had that experience too.  I like many kinds of covers featuring characters: original illustrations made just for the book cover; paintings or other art that suggests the character and gives me some notion of time, place, and personality (Penguin is a fan of this approach); or even photographs, modern or period photos of people who then become my mental image of the character as I read.

CHALLENGE

This challenge is meant to be easy, fun, and flexible. The goal is for us to share some favorite characters from around the world, especially those which have been depicted in memorable cover art. Your task is to select one or more book covers featuring any one of your favorite characters (they don’t have to be on my 100 list, of course), and post the result in the format of your choice.  Some details:

  1. You can share just ONE book cover that you especially like–that would be great.  Or, if you wish, create a COMPOSITE image, a COLLAGE, or GALLERY with several covers.
  2. Post your image on the social media of your choice. You can Tweet or Instagram it. You can post it in your blog. Whichever way you choose, be sure to include the hashtag #TTWIBRAT in your posting.
  3. Share the link with me by leaving a comment to this mini-challenge post.  Be sure that you use the specific link that will take me right to your post, tweet, or instagram page containing your submission.  I will be tweet-sharing your submissions @Fictional100, and I will feature as many as I can in a follow-up post at the end of the Readathon.
  4. This mini-challenge and giveaway will run throughout the second week of the readathon, from October 25 to 31.

GIVEAWAY

I am giving away a copy of one of the following books, featuring Fictional 100 characters on their gorgeous covers, to ONE lucky winner.  These are all chunksters, in acclaimed translations, and well worth adding to your personal library and your lifetime reading (or re-reading) plan.  Follow the links to Goodreads for more details about each one.

The GIVEAWAY is open to those who participate in the mini-challenge and share a fabulous character cover or covers! Because the prize is a print book, which I will ship to your doorstep, this print-book giveaway is open in the US/Canada only. International readers who enter will receive a Kindle version of one of these books if they win.

The winner will be selected by random drawing from those who ENTER using the link below. I will notify the winner by email and arrange to send your prize.

Entry-Form

I can’t wait to see and share your cover selections for favorite characters. If you are participating in the #TTWIBRAT Instagram Challenge, today’s theme is Favorite World Lit Characters, so feel free to share the same photo here if it is a book cover. Thank you for participating, and enjoy the rest of the Travel the World in Books Readathon!

And There’s More!

Also be sure to check out the main Travel the World in Books Readathon 2015 Giveaways Page and enter to win a book from among the 18 books generously offered there! See more details at Mom’s Small Victories.

Giveaways page button

20 Responses to “#TTWIBRAT Mini-Challenge + GIVEAWAY : Favorite Characters in Cover Art”

  1. thebooktrailer October 25, 2015 at 8:29 am #

    Totally agree with how important fictional characters are in a book and many of them have been friends for life! You have to form relationships with them for the book but many stay in your head and demand a reread – Jane Eyre being one of mine. There are so many I would love to get around a dinner table and get them chatting. Imagine that!

    Love this idea of thinking about fictional characters and I’m going to put together a few of mine right now. Thanks for this challenge!

  2. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories October 25, 2015 at 9:34 am #

    Great giveaway Lucy! I just downloaded Anna Karenina to listen on audio this week. Thanks for hosting this fun mini-challenge!

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review October 25, 2015 at 9:49 am #

    I love this challenge! I picked the iconic image of the March Sisters by Jessie Wilcox Smith and tweeted it here: https://twitter.com/LoryECBR/status/658278534138449921

    • thebooktrailer October 25, 2015 at 10:01 am #

      Ooh yes! That’s a good one. I wanted to live in their house as it seemed so lovely.

  4. thebooktrailer October 25, 2015 at 10:00 am #

    Another message here to share my own link with you all – forgot in the last post sorry! I have picked out four fictional friends that mean a lot to me and I would love to know who your fictional friends are!

    https://thebooktrail.wordpress.com/2015/10/25/fictional-friends-from-around-the-world/

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 25, 2015 at 8:20 pm #

      Thanks, Susan! What a terrific post! And great covers too! The Enid Blyton cover is so charming. I hope you’ll enter the Giveaway if you wish, via clicking the Entry-Form.

  5. Becca Lostinbooks October 25, 2015 at 3:33 pm #

    Here is my entry to the mini-challenge! https://instagram.com/p/9RboxJKrr8/?taken-by=becca_lost_in_books If no one else wants A Tale of Genji, you can totally send it to me because I’ve been meaning to finish reading it since 2009! lol

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 25, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

      This one’s a new translation for me. I read the one by Edward Seidenstecker for my book. I hope you’ll enter the Giveaway too (via the Entry-Form button) too!

  6. WordsAndPeace October 25, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

    neat and fun! here is my entry: https://twitter.com/wordsandpeace/status/658450522886832128
    I thought I would have to paste it in the entry form, but there was no place for it, so here it is

  7. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader) October 25, 2015 at 10:25 pm #

    I have too many faves so I picked up some books I have on hand with great cover art! Thanks for the challenge Lucy 🙂 https://twitter.com/guiltlessreader/status/658469253482283008

  8. momssmallvictories October 25, 2015 at 11:56 pm #

    Fun challenge and great giveaway! I shared this on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook! https://instagram.com/p/9SI64poLDN/

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 26, 2015 at 7:37 am #

      Thank you so much, Tanya! Your instagram challenge has really been great to get in the spirit each day!

  9. Isi October 31, 2015 at 1:36 pm #

    Hi Lucy!
    Here I am! I wanted to participate with a not-very-known book that I loved: The incredible story of Henry N. Brown, which is told by a teddy bear! Lovely book: https://instagram.com/p/9gq9fws-Nb/
    Thanks for the challenge and giveaway!

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 31, 2015 at 5:40 pm #

      Oh thank you, Isi! This is a wonderful entry. I love teddy bear characters, like Winnie-the-Pooh and Paddington Bear. I just found a copy of this in English translation–the author was born in Germany–and I’m very interested to read it!

  10. Sharon @ Faith Hope & Cherrytea October 31, 2015 at 2:21 pm #

    Luvd this – just took me forever to get to the internet! not ez when it’s not at home 🙂
    Here’s my collage for lots of impact! Drew Farthering of Julianna Deering’s creative vintage mysteries – tweeted @_eHope HERE

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 31, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

      Those are fabulous covers, Sharon! Great to put them together like this. He looks very cool, calm, and collected 🙂 and ready for a stylish mystery. Thanks so much for participating!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel the World in Books Readathon Oct 2015, Day 8: Favorite Characters in World Lit - Mom's Small VictoriesMom's Small Victories - October 25, 2015

    […] For today’s mini-challenge Lucy is encouraging us to share book covers featuring our favorite characters from around the world. Who would make your Fictional 100 list? Stop by Lucy’s blog to complete the Favorite Characters in Cover Art Mini-Challenge and GIVEAWAY! […]

  2. Travel the World in Books Readathon Schedule, October 2015 - Mom's Small VictoriesMom's Small Victories - October 25, 2015

    […] Mini-challenge: Sharing Book Covers Featuring Favorite Characters + Giveaway (US/Can for print copy,…hosted by Fictional 100 * Daily Discussion Topic: Favorite world YA/MG/Kidlit books or world lit […]

  3. #TTWIBRAT: Finish line | From Isi - November 1, 2015

    […] mini-challenge thanks to Lucy! I participated in the last minute because of my busy week, as I told before, but I did it! This […]

  4. #TTWIBRAT 2015 Mini-Challenge Wrap-Up, Giveaway Winner, and Highlights! | The Fictional 100 - November 3, 2015

    […] was delighted to host a mini-challenge on Favorite Characters and Cover Art, with a Giveaway (by random drawing) of a book displaying some of my own favorite characters in […]

Leave a Reply

Myrtle Skete

Orthodox Gleanings

catholicismpure.wordpress.com/

Catholicism without compromise

Joan's Rome

by EWTN's Rome Bureau Chief Joan Lewis

Burning Hearts

A personal journey into sacred scripture

Faith Hope & Cherrytea

inspiring and inspiriting ...

Living Our Days

Gaining a heart of wisdom

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Third Order Carmelites TOC

Ordo Fratrum Beatissimæ Virginis Mariæ de Monte Carmelo

The Holy Ones

They are happy who live by the law of God.

The Victorian Librarian

This is the life you lead when you can't decide between librarianship and research

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for fellow travellers

Dotty Anderson

CHILDREN'S STORIES TO ENTERTAIN AND EDUCATE

Literary ramblings etc

"Book collecting...is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it" (Jeanette Winterson).

Some of my best friends are fictional...

Life in Slow Motion

Where Life, Faith, and Chronic Pain Collide

Shelf Love

live mines and duds: the reading life

The Fictional 100

Some of my best friends are fictional...

The Evolving Critic

Art and Culture

