Travel the World in Books Readathon, Oct 18-31 #TTWIBRAT

11 Oct
Travel the World in Books button

Image courtesy of potowizard at FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

I’m so happy it’s Fall again and time for another Travel the World in Books Readathon! It was such great fun last time, and also a great stimulus to reading widely and diversely, discovering new writers and their books from around the globe.   This year I’m very happy to be joining Tanya of Mom’s Small Victories, Becca of I’m Lost in Books, Savvy Working Gal, and Aloi of Guiltless Reading as a co-host!  I’m planning a mini-challenge, about favorite characters and the cover art they inspire, for the second week of the readathon.  I will also be hosting a Twitter chat, along with Savvy Working Gal, where we can discuss what we’ve all been reading.  Once you SIGN UP, you will get updates with all the particulars for events during the Readathon.

The thing I love about the challenges and linkups that Tanya creates is the way they are relaxed and laid back, yet abundantly clear, structured, and inviting. Right from the beginning last year, I felt like I knew what to do and where to begin, and I could pick and choose the mini-challenges and events that interested me most.  I’m so glad that Guiltless Reader Aloi will be offering her mini-challenge again where we can make our own Google Maps of our reading. Hers is awesome, and I plan to add to the one I started last year. I’m also looking forward to Tanya’s Instagram challenge, especially since I just (or, should I say, finally?) joined Instagram so I could participate!

The Readathon is part of the ongoing Travel the World in Books Reading Challenge, but you don’t have to sign on to that to do the readathon–unless, of course, you want to!  The purpose of the readathon and the challenge is the same:

Explore countries other than the one where you live. Read as much as you can of books set in a different country or by an author from a different country. Read for your own pleasure or learning, read with your kids or both. Travel the world from the comfort of your own home and learn about different cultures. Expand your horizons and show publishers that #WeNeedDiverseBooks to promote cultural understanding and diversity in our reading. Support diverse authors and books.

We’ll be using #TraveltheWorldinBooksRAT and #TTWIBRAT as our hashtags for posts and social media during the Readathon. I’ll probably opt for the shorter one, to have more room to tweet!

Sign up and link up, and you can sample ideas for diverse books from those who have linked up already. I know I will refer to Becca’s fabulous list of books she has read by Country and Culture (organized by continent). Stop by Guiltless Reading’s post to find her links with many book ideas, including her Notable Reads in 2014 for the reading challenge.

What I’ll Be Reading This Time

I’m planning on finishing two books that both begin with characters traveling by train:

The Girl from Krakow by Alex Rosenberg shows one woman’s perilous activities during wartime.

Girl from Krakow coverThe 6:41 from Paris by Jean-Philippe Blondel puts two characters in an awkward emotional situation when they meet on a train.

641 to Paris cover

I’m also going to keep reading The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky.  The title character, Prince Myshkin, is viewed as an “idiot” in the very Russian sense of the Wise Fool, one who is touched (and a bit tetched) by God. This character is usually regarded as a Christlike figure–he is a gentle soul whose simple goodness is uncompromising, and therefore sometimes perplexing to those he meets.  After reading The Brothers Karamazov, I have been eager to read this one too.

Idiot cover

As part of my Northern Lights Reading Project, I plan to continue reading the Icelandic classic, Independent People by Nobel-prize-winner Halldór Laxness.  This modern-day saga of an irascible sheep farmer and his wife is compelling reading, and quite fascinating!

Independent People cover

Happy reading!

13 Responses to “Travel the World in Books Readathon, Oct 18-31 #TTWIBRAT”

  1. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader) October 11, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    Lucy! I obviously spaced out since I don’t have my books lined up yet hahaha 🙂 So looking forward to this amazing event …

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 14, 2015 at 7:28 am #

      No problem! Your announcement post was so full of good information, and still plenty of time to line up your reading, right? I’m really looking forward to it, and glad you’ll be there hosting too!

      • guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader) October 22, 2015 at 10:58 am #

        It’s fun! I haven’t read anything for the event yet but I guess I am preoccupied with hosting … just getting around to everyone’s posts and now I worry my TBR will never get shorter hahaha

  2. Danita Carr October 11, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks for sharing at Small Victories Sunday Linkup!

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 14, 2015 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks, Danita, for visiting! That linkup is amazing, isn’t it?

  3. WordsAndPeace October 12, 2015 at 9:33 am #

    thanks for posting about this. I have so far read books about 53 countries [list here: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/01/04/around-the-world-in-52-books/%5D, but I may able to add some. I started a Google map for my US challenge, I need to update it before it gets too long. Too much work to do this one with 53 places. You have quite a challenge here for just 2 weeks. The book by Blondel reads quickly, but The Idiot is not a short book, lol

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 14, 2015 at 7:33 am #

      That’s great that you’ve kept track of the countries, Emma! I’ve only just started doing this on the Travel the World in Books group map on Pinterest. You’re right about the Dostoevsky, haha–I don’t usually finish my readathon books anyway, so I still put big ones on my menu. 😉 “The Idiot” is such a brilliant, compassionate book–I’m marveling at it so far.

  4. Sharon @ faith hope and cherrytea October 12, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

    Ahh So glad I’m on your newsletter list, Lucy !

    Signedup! With the Dewey 24 hr Readathon ending at 7 a.m. of the 18th, I will do my best to keep reading 🙂 I am reading mysteries / suspense for RIP X til the 31st, but every book has a location so they all fit with #TTWIBRAT !
    No reading for me though on the 19th as that’s election day here this year and the reason for my being MIA for so long – I should be free for reading after the 20th…

    Thanks for hosting this Reading FuN !

    • faith hope and cherrytea October 13, 2015 at 1:48 pm #

      Another #TTWINB map of continents, countries and states posted HERE HapPy Reading!

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 14, 2015 at 7:35 am #

      So glad I’ll be catching up with you for TTWIBRAT! I don’t think I’ll get to do Dewey this time, but I’ll stop in on twitter and your blog to see what you’re reading. I’ve been missing for most of the summer too, getting used to new babysitting schedule (and joys!).

  5. Savvy WorkingGal October 18, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

    Great reading list. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts especially on Independent People. It sounds intriguing.

    • Lucy Pollard-Gott October 18, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

      Thank you! I keep rereading the opening chapters, because they are so well-crafted and memorable, but I must push beyond this to the rest of the story! Definitely want to review this one.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel the World in Books Readathon–Day 1 Intros and Photo Challenge #TTWIBRAT | The Fictional 100 - October 18, 2015

    […] time is likely to make a heart-wrenching and memorable story.  This book isn’t even on my posted Readathon plans, but these things are flexible, right? I may just pick this up and keep […]

Leave a Reply

Faith Hope & Cherrytea

inspiring and inspiriting ...

Myrtle Skete

Orthodox Gleanings

catholicismpure.wordpress.com/

Catholicism without compromise

Joan's Rome

by EWTN's Rome Bureau Chief Joan Lewis

Burning Hearts

A personal journey into sacred scripture

Living Our Days

Gaining a heart of wisdom

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Third Order Carmelites TOC

Ordo Fratrum Beatissimæ Virginis Mariæ de Monte Carmelo

The Holy Ones

They are happy who live by the law of God.

The Victorian Librarian

This is the life you lead when you can't decide between librarianship and research

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

Dotty Anderson

CHILDREN'S STORIES TO ENTERTAIN AND EDUCATE

Literary ramblings etc

"Book collecting...is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it" (Jeanette Winterson).

Some of my best friends are fictional...

Life in Slow Motion

Where Life, Faith, and Chronic Pain Collide

Shelf Love

live mines and duds: the reading life

The Fictional 100

Some of my best friends are fictional...

The Evolving Critic

Art and Culture

